#BringBackOurGirls: SOMEBODY’S DAUGHTER

www.facebook.com/WRRPoetry [SOMEBODY'S DAUGHTER]

http://www.facebook.com/WRRPoetry [SOMEBODY’S DAUGHTER]

Market women keep bargaining in my head
every second, I breathe hate
In death camp, no warmth
Must my blood be propitiation?
Am I not worth more than a bet?
Patriotism or victimization
Out of reach of my loved ones
where exist a glow absent here
No saviour is yet forthcoming
to rescue me… somebody’s daughter!

Written by: Lawal Kafayat Gold

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. This is very powerful- I love it, not in a happy way but in a “yes, this is right” way. Although I must ask a question that I have seen so many others asking recently: why must we identify these girls/ women relationally (“somebody’s daughter”). Is it not enough that they are simply somebody?

    Like

    Reply

Please let us know what you think

