• WRR POETRY COLLEGE

    Do you want to learn poetry the fun way? Click here to join the Words Rhymes & Rhythm Poetry College.

    Do you want to learn poetry the fun way? Click here to join the Words Rhymes & Rhythm Poetry College.

  • Like WRR on Facebook

  • WRRoetry FAMILY

MY TIME WILL COME

The bright lights
The cameras flashing
The mic in front of me
Me dressed in fancy fashion

The stage couldn’t be bigger
Millions of people expectant
I go live in a few seconds
This time no ants in my pants

But all that’s my imagination
At least that’s what I’ll call it now
I neither know about “where and when”
Nor do I know about “why and how”

I don’t have guys fighting for my autograph
I don’t have ladies screaming my name
I still walk long distances to and fro
I don’t have all the money and fame

Notwithstanding, the drive is there
The passion is evident
It may not come as quickly as I want
But the signs are imminent

Someday I’ll think back and smile
Smile about all the sacrifices made
Smile for all the work I put in
Smile for all the dues I paid

As sure as night is dark
As sure as summer is warm
As sure as sunshine after rain
My time will surely come.

Written by: Chuks Asoegwu

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think

